Best Mac Notch Apps (2026): Island Picks Compared
Short answer: the best Mac notch app depends on budget and what you want the notch to do. Notchy is the broadest free app, Boring Notch a free, open-source one with 10,895 GitHub stars, Sapphire a free open-source core with monthly AI tiers, Alcove and DynamicLake Pro one-time purchases, and FavTray’s FavShelf a free glance with a paid toolset for developers.
TL;DR
- Free and broad: Notchy (macOS 13+).
- Free and open source: Boring Notch; Atoll if you have a notched MacBook; Sapphire’s core.
- Pay once: Alcove ($14.99), DynamicLake Pro ($13.99), MediaMate (HUDs only).
- For developers: FavTray’s FavShelf (Claude and Codex limits, Claude Code approvals, a calendar with join buttons).
- Check first: NotchNook went offline in September 2026 and relaunched at a new site in October.
Apple gave the iPhone its Dynamic Island in 2022 but never gave the Mac one: the notch arrived in 2021 and still does nothing interactive, and even macOS 27 only added a » button for the menu bar icons it hides. Notch apps fill the gap by drawing an expandable panel around the camera housing: hover it and it opens with media controls, calendars, file shelves and alerts. New to this? Start with how to get a notch island on Mac or what the MacBook notch is for.
Disclosure: FavShelf is our app. Every other fact below was checked on 28 September 2026 on each app’s own site, GitHub repository or store listing, linked in the text. Prices change, so verify before buying.
Updated 7 October 2026: NotchNook’s status, Droppy, Crest, Notchy and the agent notch apps.
Which Mac notch apps are worth installing?
Price, licence and requirements
| App | Price | Open source | Works without a notch | macOS |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FavTray FavShelf | Glance free; tools with the one-time Lifetime licence | No | ✅ glass pill | 14+ |
| Notchy | Free, donations | No | ✅ floating pill | 13+ |
| Boring Notch | Free | ✅ GPL-3.0 | ”Show on all displays” option | 14+ |
| Sapphire | Free core; $15.99–$30.99/month tiers | ✅ AGPL-3.0 | ✅ | 14.6+ |
| Atoll | Free | ✅ GPL-3.0 | ❌ needs a notch | 14+ |
| Alcove | $14.99 once (3 Macs) | No | Not stated | 15+ |
| DynamicLake Pro | $13.99 once (3 Macs) | No | ✅ | 14+ |
| NotchNest | Free; Premium $2.99/month or $14.99 lifetime | No | ✅ drop-down panel | 14+ |
| Droppy | $9.99 (€8.55) once (2 Macs), 3-day trial | No | ✅ floating shelf | 14+ |
| MediaMate | €6.99 on Gumroad; free demo mode | No | Not stated | 13+ |
| MewNotch | Free | ✅ GPL-3.0 | Not stated | 14+ |
| NotchDrop | Free | ✅ MIT | Not stated | Not stated |
| NotchNook | Regularly $25 once or $3/month (getnotchnook.com); relaunched Oct 2026 | No | Not verified | 14.6+ |
What each one does
| App | Media | Calendar | File shelf | Clipboard | Weather | HUDs / alerts | Camera | AI / agents |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FavShelf | ✅ Spotify artwork, seek | ✅ day ruler + Join | ✅ AirDrop | ✅ | ✅ multi-city | ✅ volume, power + moments | ✅ camera check | Usage bars, Claude Code approvals |
| Notchy | ✅ + synced lyrics | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | Usage limits, Claude Code approvals |
| Boring Notch | ✅ visualizer | ✅ + Reminders | ✅ AirDrop | — | Roadmap | ✅ HUDs | ✅ mirror | — |
| Sapphire | ✅ | Alerts | ✅ + Nearby Share | Picker (3.0) | ✅ | ✅ | — | Gemini; Blip AI on paid tiers |
| Atoll | ✅ | ✅ | — | ✅ | — | ✅ live activities | — | — |
| Alcove | ✅ | — | — | — | — | ✅ HUDs, notifications, live activities | — | — |
| DynamicLake Pro | ✅ | ✅ glance | ✅ AirDrop | — | ✅ | ✅ message and call alerts | — | — |
| NotchNest | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ AirDrop | ✅ | — | Battery | ✅ mirror | AI clipboard and notes |
| MediaMate | ✅ now playing HUD | — | — | — | — | ✅ volume, brightness | — | — |
| MewNotch | — | — | — | — | — | ✅ brightness, volume, power | — | — |
| NotchDrop | — | — | ✅ AirDrop | — | — | — | — | — |
— means the app’s own page doesn’t list it. FavShelf’s free glance covers media, weather, AI usage bars and HUDs; the rest needs a paid licence.
How do the best Mac notch apps compare?
FavTray FavShelf: the notch as a work surface
FavShelf is the notch island inside FavTray, a menu bar app for developers. The island carries now playing for Spotify and Apple Music, a day calendar (the hours around now, one click to Join), clipboard history, a file shelf with AirDrop, multi-city weather and a camera check. Moments turn alerts from the rest of FavTray into one card under the camera: Claude at 95% as a line and a bar, a water or stand-up reminder as a two-button ask, a streak as candles. And the Agents page shows Claude Code and Codex sessions and lets you approve or deny Claude Code from the notch.
The glance (media, weather, Claude and Codex usage bars, volume and power HUDs) is free on every install. The tools unlock with any paid plan, which is a one-time Lifetime licence, and every install gets a 7-day full trial first. It’s closed source and needs macOS 14. Compared head to head: vs Boring Notch, vs Notchy, vs NotchNook, vs Sapphire, vs Alcove.
Notchy: the broadest free island
Notchy is free, donation-supported and closed source, and it runs back to macOS 13 Ventura. Its list is long: synced lyrics, a file shelf that survives relaunches, clipboard history with smart actions, a calendar, weather, HUDs that can replace the stock ones, a camera check, Pomodoro with focus stats, window snapping, AI rate-limit tracking for Claude Code, Codex, Cursor and Copilot, an Allow/Deny island for Claude Code, listening ports with kill, GitHub pull requests, and a Notification Mirror that needs Full Disk Access (per notchy.dev on 7 October 2026). On a Mac without a notch it floats the same island as a pill. For the most notch for $0, it’s the pick. It counts functions rather than tools, which is why its feature number looks big (more on that).
Boring Notch: the open-source favourite
Boring Notch is free under GPL-3.0, with 10,895 GitHub stars on 28 September 2026. It covers media with a visualizer, calendar and Reminders, a shelf with AirDrop, a camera mirror, a charging indicator and HUDs for volume, brightness and keyboard backlight. Weather and notifications are still on its roadmap. It isn’t signed with an Apple Developer account, so the first launch needs Open Anyway in System Settings › Privacy & Security once. The stable release is 2.7.3; a 2.8 release candidate shipped on 25 September 2026. Setup steps: Boring Notch for Mac.
Sapphire: free core, monthly AI
Sapphire is open source (AGPL-3.0) with a free core for one Mac on macOS 14.6+. Beyond the island it adds Face ID on Mac, an XDR brightness boost, a 10-band EQ, Snap Zones, Android Nearby Share and Caffeinate. Its Blip AI, Circle to Search and live sports and finance are monthly tiers from $15.99 to $30.99. Version 3.0 (15 September 2026) is labelled an early release. Full write-up: Sapphire and Bloom on Mac.
Atoll: open source with system stats
Atoll is free under GPL-3.0 and adds CPU, GPU, memory, network and disk stats to the notch, alongside media, live activities, lock-screen widgets, timers, clipboard history, a colour picker and calendar. It needs macOS 14 and a MacBook with a notch. The latest release is 2.3.3 (24 July 2026). A different, much smaller GitHub project is also called Atoll, so check the repository name.
Alcove: polished HUDs, one payment
Alcove is $14.99 once for up to 3 Macs, with a 72-hour trial and a 14-day refund. It focuses on fluid transitions, live activities, notifications, customisable HUDs, swipe gestures and lock-screen widgets rather than a toolbox. It needs macOS 15 Sequoia, and its FAQ notes that it relies on private APIs. Side by side: FavTray vs Alcove.
DynamicLake Pro: one-time and feature-dense
DynamicLake Pro is $13.99 once on Gumroad for 3 Macs, with a 14-day money-back guarantee, on macOS 14+ with or without a notch. It covers music, a calendar and weather glance, a file area with AirDrop, Bluetooth alerts, file conversion, an app switcher, and notifications for Messages, WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, email and calls. Version 2.0 (15 September 2026) added plugins that bring third-party live activities into the island. The free DynamicLake is deprecated.
NotchNook: check before you buy
NotchNook made notch apps popular. In September 2026 it went offline during an ownership dispute at its developer, lo.cafe (MacMagazine, 16 September), and Homebrew has disabled its cask. On 7 October getnotchnook.com said it was back, at regularly $25 once or $3 a month with a 48-hour trial, but we couldn’t confirm who runs the new site or whether licences bought before September still work. Full status: FavTray vs NotchNook. Against the free favourite: Boring Notch vs NotchNook.
Smaller and single-purpose notch apps
- NotchNest: free with limits, Premium $2.99/month or $14.99 lifetime, macOS 14+. Clipboard, calendar, Pomodoro, notes, music, an AirDrop file drop and a camera preview; on Macs without a notch it’s a drop-down panel.
- Droppy: $9.99 (€8.55) once for 2 Macs, with a 3-day trial, macOS 14+. A notch island with a file shelf, clipboard history, live activities, music controls and optional extensions, plus an Agents droplet that follows Claude, Codex, Cursor and Antigravity with plan-limit rings, and replies to iMessage, WhatsApp and Telegram from the notch (checked 7 October 2026). On notchless displays it uses a floating shelf.
- Crest: free tier; Pro $24.99 once together with its Take and Minutes apps, or $2.99/month, macOS 14+. Media with synced lyrics, a calendar with Join, weather, a shelf, clipboard and widgets, and it approves Claude Code, Codex CLI and Copilot CLI from the notch.
- MediaMate: €6.99 on Gumroad with a free demo mode, macOS 13+. Replaces the volume, brightness and keyboard brightness HUDs and adds a now playing HUD inside the notch.
- MewNotch: free, GPL-3.0, macOS 14+. Turns the notch into a HUD for brightness, volume and power.
- NotchDrop: free, MIT. The notch becomes a drop zone for files and AirDrop.
- TopNotch: free, macOS 11+. Doesn’t add features; it hides the notch by blacking out the menu bar area.
- NotchCam: $0.99, macOS 11+. Click the notch for a camera preview, nothing else.
Is a Mac notch app free?
Often, yes. Notchy, Boring Notch, Atoll, MewNotch, NotchDrop and TopNotch cost nothing; Sapphire and NotchNest have free tiers; and FavShelf’s glance is free on every FavTray install. What you pay for varies: Alcove and DynamicLake Pro are one-time, Sapphire’s AI is monthly, and FavShelf’s tools come with FavTray’s one-time Lifetime licence. The $0 options, and exactly where each paywall starts, are in free notch apps for Mac.
Which notch apps approve Claude Code? (agent notch)
An “agent notch” shows your coding agents in the notch and lets you answer their permission prompts there. Notchy and FavShelf do it inside a general notch app (FavShelf approves Claude Code and shows Codex sessions read-only), and so does Crest, which approves Claude Code, Codex CLI and Copilot CLI. The dedicated agent islands:
- coucou (free, MIT) approves Claude Code with Allow, Deny and Always, approves Codex, answers questions, and has an iPhone app in TestFlight beta.
- CodeIsland (free, MIT): approvals and replies for 30+ agents.
- Open Vibe Island (free, GPL-3.0) monitors and approves, and jumps back to the terminal.
- Vibe Island ($19.99 once) watches 30 agents and, per an August 2026 review, works two-way only with Claude Code, OpenCode and MiMoCode.
- Notchi (free, GPL-3.0) is a companion that reacts to Claude Code and Codex.
Not a notch app, but worth knowing: Anthropic’s own Remote Control can push Claude Code’s permission prompts and questions to the Claude app on your phone (Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise plans). What to check before you trust any of them is in approve Claude Code from your Mac’s notch. Every way to get an alert when Claude Code finishes or needs you is in Claude Code notifications on Mac, and the dedicated agent island compared with FavTray is in FavTray vs Vibe Island.
Which notch app has a camera mirror?
For a quick “how do I look” before a call, Boring Notch (its “boring mirror”, with a shape option), Notchy, NotchNest and FavShelf all drop a live camera preview out of the notch, and NotchCam does nothing else. FavShelf’s camera check works with built-in, external and Continuity cameras and never records.
Can a notch app replace the menu bar?
Not really. Notch apps use the space around the camera; they don’t manage the icons the notch hides. For that you want a menu bar manager: macOS 27’s » overflow button, Bartender, or a free tool. Bartender’s paid Pro tier now includes its own notch island, Top Shelf (FavTray vs Bartender). If icons are vanishing behind the notch, start with the notch menu bar fix.
What about Bloom, Dynamic Notch and “better notch”?
- Bloom, the island app on GitHub, is a Windows app, not a Mac one. Details: Sapphire and Bloom.
- DynamicNotchKit is an MIT Swift library for developers building notch UIs, not an app.
- We couldn’t find a Mac app called “Better Notch”; people searching for one usually want one of the apps above.
How to choose the best notch app for your Mac
- The most notch for $0, or you’re on Ventura: Notchy.
- Free and open source: Boring Notch; Atoll if you have a notched MacBook.
- A free core with optional AI subscriptions: Sapphire.
- Pay once for polish: Alcove (HUDs and live activities) or DynamicLake Pro (the longest feature list).
- Only HUDs: MediaMate or MewNotch. Only files: NotchDrop.
- Coding agents in the notch: coucou, CodeIsland or Vibe Island on their own, or Notchy, Crest or FavShelf inside a full island.
- The notch as mission control for a developer’s day (calendar with join buttons, camera check, clipboard, Claude and Codex limits, Claude Code approvals, and moments from water and stand-up reminders): FavShelf, free glance, tools with a one-time Lifetime licence. Since the same app includes an eye-rest timer, AI usage tracking and more, compare it with the apps it replaces, not with one notch widget.
Whichever you pick, check which macOS permissions it asks for: notch app permissions for Spotify and Apple Music explains what each one is for.
One caveat for every app here: none can draw under the camera. They make the space around it worth looking at.
Sources (checked 7 October 2026): MacMagazine on NotchNook, Homebrew’s notchnook cask, getnotchnook.com, Droppy, Crest, notchy.dev, DynamicLake, coucou, Claude Code Remote Control. Everything else was checked on 28 September 2026 at the links in the text.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best notch app for Mac?
It depends on what you want the notch to do. Notchy is the broadest free app. Boring Notch is free and open source. Sapphire has a free open-source core with monthly AI tiers. Alcove ($14.99 once) and DynamicLake Pro are one-time purchases. FavTray's FavShelf has a free glance and a one-time Lifetime licence for developer tools such as Claude Code approvals.
What is the best free notch app for Mac?
Notchy, if you want the most features for $0: synced lyrics, a file shelf, clipboard history, calendar, weather, HUDs, a camera check, Pomodoro and AI usage limits, back to macOS 13. Boring Notch if you want open source. Sapphire's core, Atoll, MewNotch and NotchDrop are free too, and FavTray's FavShelf glance is free on every install.
Is a Mac notch app free?
Many are. Notchy, Boring Notch, Atoll, MewNotch and NotchDrop cost nothing, Sapphire and NotchNest have free tiers, and FavTray's FavShelf glance is free. Alcove, DynamicLake Pro, Droppy, MediaMate and Vibe Island are paid once; Sapphire's AI and NotchNest Premium are monthly. macOS itself does nothing with the notch, so any notch feature comes from one of these apps.
Can the MacBook notch work like the iPhone's island?
Yes, with a third-party app. macOS does nothing interactive with the notch, but notch apps draw an expandable panel around the camera housing that opens on hover and shows media, calendars, file shelves, HUDs and notifications, the same interaction as the iPhone's island.
Which notch apps have a camera mirror?
Boring Notch (its 'boring mirror'), Notchy, NotchNest and FavTray's FavShelf all show a live camera preview from the notch so you can check yourself before a call. NotchCam ($0.99 on the Mac App Store) does only that. FavShelf's camera check works with built-in, external and Continuity cameras.
What is an agent notch app?
A notch app that shows coding agents such as Claude Code and Codex in the notch and lets you approve or deny their permission requests there. Notchy, FavTray's FavShelf and Crest do this inside a general notch app; coucou, CodeIsland and Open Vibe Island are free, open-source agent islands, and Vibe Island is $19.99 once. Our Claude Code approvals guide compares them.
Do notch apps work on Macs without a notch?
Most do. Notchy, Sapphire, NotchNest, Droppy and DynamicLake Pro say they support external displays and Macs without a notch, usually as a floating bar or pill at the top of the screen. FavTray's FavShelf shows a small glass pill on the main display of a Mac without a notch. Boring Notch has a 'show on all displays' option. Atoll needs a MacBook with a notch.
Is Dynamic Notch a Mac app?
Not exactly. DynamicNotchKit is an open-source Swift library (MIT, macOS 13+) that developers use to build notch interfaces, not an app you install. If you searched for a dynamic notch or a 'better notch' for your Mac, the apps in this list are what you want.